Too many trips planned for this ship

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X Rebirth.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

DarkKlown77
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue, 28. Dec 10, 17:11
x3tc

Post by DarkKlown77 » Sat, 16. Nov 13, 18:00

Ok, I don't know what file your editing, but when I open the last game I have saved (quicksave) and search for shopping, about a thousand entries pop up, none of them dealing with the trade orders, or what everyone else is finding and deleting.

So what now?
For the Angel of Death spread his wings on the blast, And breathed in the face of the foe as he passed, And the eyes of the sleepers waxed deadly and chill, And their hearts but once heaved, and for ever grew still!

Feuerriese
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu, 28. Sep 06, 12:25
x4

Post by Feuerriese » Sat, 16. Nov 13, 18:57

You might want to search for <shopping>. Exactly like that. However, I think it will only be there if you actually issued trade orders. So don't forget that.

Black_Beat
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 6. Feb 04, 12:52
x4

Post by Black_Beat » Sat, 16. Nov 13, 21:08

ty Feuer, this worked aswell for me :)

But thats no excuse for Egosoft that such a ****** "bug" exist or players arent able to delete trade commands -.- tz
-"Wer tot ist, ist noch lange nicht offline"-

SG
Black_Beat

Hob Anagerik
Posts: 632
Joined: Fri, 28. Oct 05, 20:05
x3tc

Post by Hob Anagerik » Sun, 17. Nov 13, 14:27

I think this is one of those cases where I am not angry or upset I am just disappointed. But if I am honest, and as I posted in many other fora, I was expecting the latest Egosoft release to be buggy. I just didn't quite expect this though.
Windows 7 Pro x64, Intel i7 975, 12GB Corsair Dominator, Asus P6T6 WS Revolution, C.Labs X-Fi Fatal1ty, EVGA Nvidia 3GB 780 Ti, 2x 240GB Intel 520 SSD

illusori
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue, 10. Feb 04, 12:33
x4

Post by illusori » Sun, 17. Nov 13, 20:21

Editing the save file worked for me too.

Of course now my freighter is complaining that it's out of fuel cells because it's been trying to follow me around the universe while I tried to find things for it to sell. Because I can't tell it to buy and sell unless it follows me like a puppy. :evil:

This whole trading "experience" is broken at every single level, every time I fix or work around one issue I find that it was just hiding something else equally broken in concept and implementation at the next step.
'Sori

Naroku
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 10, 03:10
x3tc

Post by Naroku » Mon, 18. Nov 13, 03:36

These save files are massive in size, under mine it says collapsed on a lot of things sadly.....Perhaps that's why there a wall of freighters just sit and spinning
Walk softly and carry a big gun.

AquaBoar
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat, 16. Nov 13, 05:29

Post by AquaBoar » Mon, 18. Nov 13, 09:46

illusori wrote:Because I can't tell it to buy and sell unless it follows me like a puppy. :evil:
I think this right here may be the key to the issues with trading. I can't fathom why the ship is required to be in your squad/following you in order for you to give it a trade order.

I haven't played free play yet (too much rage + studying for exam). Does trading function any better outside of the campaign?

User avatar
Swallen
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue, 11. Oct 11, 19:13

Post by Swallen » Mon, 18. Nov 13, 14:36

AquaBoar wrote:
illusori wrote:Because I can't tell it to buy and sell unless it follows me like a puppy. :evil:
I think this right here may be the key to the issues with trading. I can't fathom why the ship is required to be in your squad/following you in order for you to give it a trade order.

I haven't played free play yet (too much rage + studying for exam). Does trading function any better outside of the campaign?
It's the same. The campaign doesn't change the core mechanics of the game.

Pares
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed, 6. May 09, 15:46
x4

Post by Pares » Mon, 18. Nov 13, 14:53

I have a problem with my freighter too (the one you get for free in Cantera). I bought some water at a station. I ordered my freighter to deliver the water to another station with water shortages, but it simply cannot dock at the target station. It just keeps going around the station, occasionally trying to go through the station, but can't reach its destination. I can't cancel anything, can't order it to deliver the water to another station, its stuck with 3000+ water in its cargo bay, and i don't have any other freighter yet...

User avatar
rhohltjr
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat, 13. Dec 03, 22:27
x3tc

Plat meant to attract new players?

Post by rhohltjr » Mon, 18. Nov 13, 16:22

I know that Egosoft is attempting to attract new players to this genre, with the console pads
and menus, however the first impressions (X vets and newbies alike) are not having that effect.
Plot seems way too difficult IMO. :( New UI should have had a much simpler and easier plot.

Mavkiel
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat, 14. Jan 06, 00:26
x3

Post by Mavkiel » Mon, 18. Nov 13, 18:29

Its not that the plot is to difficult. Its that its to *annoying*. Those annoyances add up fast.

Great bits about the plot:
We get a nice sum of cash for putting up with Yisha

Bad things:
We then get several missions which cost far more then the cash we got to do. (Sure, I suppose you could trade, if that system was even working and not highly annoying with the whole trade ships needing to be in squad.)

Giving us a ship, which is supposed to be used in completing a misson... that lacks the very drones it needs to do the task. And lacks fuel to boot.

Bugs, yes some are to be expected. But dear god, no ability to target nearest enemy? No ability to cancel a trade run that bugs out? Having to go through a painful amount of menus to try and figure out what your ships are doing.


All that being said, I am still believe it will get sorted out. But jeez. One would have hoped that the UI would have improved with this game. Or at least maintained the same functionality its predecessor had. /rant off.

kabana
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu, 21. Nov 13, 18:12

Post by kabana » Thu, 21. Nov 13, 18:16

i have the same problem on version 1.15.

freighter is in the area (with 100 cells)
i initiate the sell order. and nothing...

tried the edit saved game thing, but i do not have the 3 shopping problem and it just cancel my order. i reinitiated it but still nothing...

Jasbo
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu, 21. Nov 13, 20:17

Post by Jasbo » Thu, 21. Nov 13, 20:21

Same problem for me also on this mission... Even after editing the save game file and telling my freighter to sell 100 energy cells to the station, it just sits there is space... even after letting it sit for an hour it still hasnt moved.

Frustrated!

Shanjaq
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat, 3. Apr 04, 09:47
x3

Post by Shanjaq » Fri, 22. Jan 16, 08:39

This did not work for me. I removed all "trade" elements from the "shopping" node, loaded the save and was happy to see that there was no more "too many trips" error (despite NOTHING showing in ANY PORTION OF THE UI ON ANY OTHER PAGE.)

Still the rahanas won't budge. I've spent the last 2 hours scouring forum posts and trying things, NOTHING WORKS!! I even went through the painfully convoluted process of firing the captain, which required exiting the game at least 10 times because some command was greyed out or not even available like the advice says it should be, due to some well-hidden required condition.

The incompetence in UI design is monumental. The ignorance of XML manipulation is colossal. Good Job Egosoft.
Image
SPACE HAS A TERRIBLE POWER

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 19954
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Fri, 22. Jan 16, 12:42

@ Shanjaq: It might indeed not work if you try a solution from a 2+ year old thread. The game and code has changed a lot through many updates since then.

Please post your issues in a new thread of your own (perhaps better placed in the Rebirth Universe forum and with less rant) and then other players will be more likely to help you with today's game version's issues.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

Locked

Return to “X Rebirth - Technical Support”